Academic Council

Academic Council is a committee constituted by the Murdoch University Senate under Section 21 of the Murdoch University Act 1973. The Academic Council is the principal academic body of the University and makes the final decision on matters of academic policy. The Council also awards degrees, diplomas, and certificates of the University on behalf of the Senate.

To assist in carrying out their responsibilities, the Senate and Academic Council establish committees in accordance with sections 12(3) and 18(1)(a) of the Murdoch University Act 1973.


The subordinate committees of the Academic Council include:

  • Academic Courses and Admissions Committee (ACAC)
  • Quality and Standards Committee (QSC)
  • Student Experience Committee (SEC)

Each of these committees may establish subordinate-committees or task and finish groups to focus on specific matters specified within their terms of reference.

Have a question? Contact us

Phone: +61 8 9360 6544

Visit: 330.4.009