As an alumnus, you are a vital part of ensuring our university continues to evolve. If you are interested in becoming actively involved in the future of Murdoch University at the highest level, you are encouraged to nominate to join the Murdoch University Senate, the University’s governing body, for a three-year term commencing 1 January 2024.

Membership expectations

It is expected that Senate members are active in terms of their membership which would involve attending on average six on campus Senate meetings a year, a day long annual retreat, other University events and possible membership of a Senate committee.

In practice this means that members should be available in Perth to attend meetings and engage with the University. Attendance by electronic means is possible in exceptional circumstances with the consent of the Chair.


All graduates of the University who have registered on the electoral roll prior to the close of nominations, are eligible to nominate.  As the University has an objective to become the University of Choice for First Nations peoples, eligible Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders are encouraged to stand for election. The University is also committed to achieving gender balance on its major Committees; eligible female graduates are particularly encouraged to consider standing for election.

Section 12.(2) of the Murdoch University Act 1973, states that a student or a staff member who works 50% or more of the minimum time required to be worked by a full-time member of staff, is not eligible to be a member of Senate elected by the Graduates.

How to nominate

Nominations for the current election are now closed.

There is no nomination form, and no need for a nominator or seconder. You can formally nominate for this position via:

  • Email:
  • Post: Address your nomination letter to
    Returning Officer, University Secretary’s Office, Murdoch University, 90 South Street, Murdoch WA 6150.

You may supply a digital photograph and a biographical/electoral statement of no more than 400 words. Candidates also have the option to include an email address so voters may contact them. This information will be included in a broadsheet provided to voters.

You will receive an email confirming your nomination and eligibility. Nomination forms received after the close of nomination deadline will not be accepted.


Candidates for the current election are listed below in ballot order:

  • Vicky Biorac
  • Peter Rogers
  • Kenny Yang
  • Peter D Dunne
  • Wal Slaven
  • Roland Belford
  • Alexander Wilson
  • Andrew Crevald
  • Keiren Shun
  • Abhinav (Abby) Agrawal
  • Christopher Poulton
  • Bhavna Kapur
  • Wida Alisa

Candidate statements will be accessible via the online voting system when the ballot opens. The individual statements allow candidates to voice their opinions and give you an idea of who they are, and how they intend to contribute to your University. Statements are supplied by candidates and do not represent the views or opinions of the University.

How to vote

All graduates of the University who have registered on the electoral roll prior to the close of nominations, are eligible to vote. 

If you are not on the electoral role, register here. When completing the form, use your student number as the unique voter ID. Alternatively, you register by providing your full name and student number to the Alumni Relations team via:

Information will be sent either via email or post to those graduates who have registered on the voter roll prior to the close of nominations on how to cast their vote.

For those using the online voting system, eligible voters will receive a personal single-use link in place of the multi-factor authorisation process previously required.   The voting link is single use only and should not be forwarded to others. Be aware that forwarding the email triggers a system alert.

Voting for the current election will close at 12noon on Friday 8 December 2023.


Queries regarding the position or nomination and voting processes can be sent via email to